Twelve Maine Community College Students Awarded The Leon A. Gorman Endowed Scholarship

May 7, 2024

SOUTH PORTLAND, ME – Twelve Maine community college students were awarded scholarships in honor of Leon A. Gorman for the upcoming 2024-2025 academic year. The students were celebrated Tuesday, May 7, 2024 in an online event with Gorman family members and L.L.Bean leadership.

This is the ninth year that the Leon A. Gorman Scholarship has been given. The scholarship supports three students at Southern Maine Community College, two students each at Central Maine Community College, Eastern Maine Community College, and Kennebec Valley Community College; and one student Northern Maine Community College, Washington County Community College, and York County Community College. Each of the twelve Leon A. Gorman Scholars will receive an award of $4,000, which equals more than a full year of tuition at a Maine community college. Scholars that receive the Free College Scholarship will receive a $2,000 scholarship.

The Leon A. Gorman Endowed Scholarship was established in 2014 by the children of Leon and Lisa Gorman in honor of Mr. Gorman’s 80th birthday. The scholarship supports Maine community college students who demonstrate strong academic achievement, financial need, and a commitment to community service, a hallmark of the scholarship’s namesake.

“The scholarship is now in its ninth year, and I’m still amazed and touched by the hard work of the students and their ability to persevere through life’s challenges. We know that they represent the core values that Leon demonstrated in both his personal and professional life. We the Leon Gorman family take great pride in knowing that the Leon A. Gorman Scholars represent the best of Maine and the future of Maine,” said Lisa Gorman.

The 2024 Leon A. Gorman Scholars are:

  • Mahdi Saidi (Auburn, ME), Automotive Technology, Central Maine Community College;
  • Victoria Wile (Gray, ME), Building Construction Technology, Central Maine Community College;
  • Corey Brown (Orono, ME), Liberal Studies, Eastern Maine Community College;
  • Ashlee Goodwin (Eddington, ME), Criminal Justice, Eastern Maine Community College;
  • Mya Seda Libby (Palermo, ME), Health Science & Nursing, Kennebec Valley Community College;
  • Karen Winfree (Fairfield, ME), Psychology, Kennebec Valley Community College;
  • Ethan Thibeault (Mapleton, ME), Diesel Hydraulics, Northern Maine Community College;
  • Emily Granholm (Winthrop, ME), Marine Science, Southern Maine Community College;
  • Tyler Lafontaine (Bridgton, ME), Communications and New Media, Southern Maine Community College;
  • Jacqueline McCurry (Biddeford, ME), Human Services, Southern Maine Community College;
  • Heather Townsend (Pembroke, ME), Liberal Studies & Health Occupations, Washington County Community College; and
  • Carla Samano Lopez (North Yarmouth, ME), Veterinary Technology, York County Community College.

Leon Gorman was passionate about the state of Maine. His investments in Maine’s community colleges exemplified that passion. He understood that Maine’s community colleges not only positively impact the lives of many aspiring individuals and their families, but also have a positive economic impact. Quite simply, he believed that well-educated community college graduates forge a bright future for the State of Maine.

“Leon Gorman was revered for his business acumen in building L.L.Bean into an internationally recognized company and for his generous philanthropic efforts throughout Maine. We are honored and grateful to the Leon Gorman family for establishing this scholarship and supporting its continued growth,” said MCCS President David Daigler.

Mr. Gorman was the longtime president and CEO of L.L.Bean. He was deeply committed to the people and places of Maine and recognized the power and potential of Maine’s community colleges to transform people’s lives.  He and his wife Lisa worked quietly behind the scenes supporting the colleges and the couple was central to the 2009 establishment and success of The Foundation for Maine’s Community Colleges for which Mrs. Gorman continues to serve as vice chair.